Disney’s Polynesian Village Resort to Remain Closed Until Summer 2021

From BlogMickey.com

The Disney statement

As we continue to reopen additional Disney Resort hotels to Guests, we are modifying the reopening date for Disney’s Polynesian Village Resort which will reopen next summer. This schedule adjustment also allows us to complete some refurbishment work at the Resort hotel, including enhancements to the Great Ceremonial House and Guest rooms. We expect work to begin in early October and look forward to sharing more about these changes in the future. The Villas and Bungalows at Disney’s Polynesian Village Resort will remain open during this refurbishment.

2 Likes

Wow. That’s about 850 deluxe (and popular!) rooms Disney is taking offline. Says a lot about their projections for when demand will come back.

3 Likes

I have an Ambassador Suite reserved for my birthday at the end of April. I guess I need to rethink that plan now :cry:

3 Likes

I’m sure that @sanstitre_has_left_the_building is shedding a big tear about this… :rofl::rofl::rofl:

1 Like

I am, actually. It’s genuinely sad.

I was hoping they would shut the place down permanently. Maybe blow it up Vegas-style and build an actually good hotel.

7 Likes

Monorail service to the Poly will be suspended at the same time.

Really? What about those staying at Poly via DVC during this time? Or who want to hit up Kona Cafe, which is, at least at the moment, still open? We had planned to get breakfast at Kona on our last day in December. :confused:

1 Like

Looks like you are walking from the TTC

https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/experience-updates/resorts/#drawer-card-polynesian

From Disney World website

• Monorail transportation is available between the Great Ceremonial House and Magic Kingdom park until early October 2020—see details below; the walkway to the Transportation and Ticket Center will remain open, where Guests may access the monorail and ferry boats to Magic Kingdom park