Celebrating 20 yEARS: A DLR Anniversary Trip

The time is now, on an evening very much like the one we have just witnessed.

Wait.

SORRY! Wrong coast! Scratch that!

This is a WEST COAST trip report, from an essentially first timer who is bound to make some rookie mistakes (because in DLR I’m a rookie for sure!) and discover new loves while celebrating a long love.

DH (51) and I (47) are heading off today to celebrate our TWENTIETH year of marriage! Good gravy, y’all, where does the time go?? It’s true what they say: the days are long but the years are short. We’ve experienced all the highs and lows that come with being married for this long and we absolutely deserve this time alone together to celebrate!

We’ll be boarding in about 45 minutes and leaving in about 90, and we expect to land at 12:20 Cali time. This will be DH’s longest flight ever, and my longest in well over a decade. If you’ve been following my Marvel Cinematic Universe thread you know that we’ll spend some of that time watching Avengers: Endgame. I’ve been warned and my multiple packs o’ tissues are at the ready.

We’re staying at the Grand Californian Hotel & Spa (because I told him we are going big or staying home) and have a Downtown Disney view. We have 4 day park hopper tickets and will be spending time each day in both parks; I can’t wait to get my head wrapped around just how easy this will be as compared to park hopping at WDW. We have dinners planned at Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen on Friday night, and Napa Rose on Saturday night. We have plans to visit Trader Sams one afternoon for libations, and to hit up Oga’s at a near-park-close reservation time. We’ll take in the Christmas stuff, including the parade and fireworks!, and make a pointed effort to explore all of the attractions we don’t have on the east coast, and those that are duplicated on each coast so as to compare/contrast (and find a fave).