Who owns the rights to your WDW vacation pictures? You or Disney?

Can you sell your personal pictures taken at WDW or DL for a profit? Can you use them in, or on a product that you are trying to sell for a profit? Such as glasses, lunch boxes, napkins, clothing etc. What does Disney have the rights to and what is actually yours? Can you sell your picture of a Disney character (cast member performing) while they were working at WDW or DL? What about an animal picture taken at AK? Or a fireworks picture?

Short answer, no. You have a variety of situations listed, involving trademarks, copyright, and models. I’m not a lawyer, but I believe you can print and display all you want, but once you try to sell something the trouble starts.

3 Likes

You can print the pictures yourself, but I was told at Walmart that I could not print pictures there without a release.

Yes but when you first download there is a release from Disney. It is easy to miss, but it is included in Memory Maker.

1 Like

Yes but if you take the photo yourself on your phone or camera you won’t be able to print them at Walmart without a release.

Sorry Joe, that’s not how copyright works. You take the photo, you own the copyright.

Not when what you take a photo of a copy written product

That is Walmart’s policy the way it was explained to me

Calling intellectual property attorneys! Anyone?

1 Like

I think it comes down to this: If you have taken a photo without breaking any laws to get it, you own the copyright.

If you take a photo of copyrighted images (architectural drawings, logos) you can step into problems IF you are selling them. Even if by the letter of the law Disney could block individual photos because of, say, a logo on it, I’d bet that in a personal, non-commercial use that it falls under Fair Use.