Wearing Eyeglasses on Rollercoasters

Hello Everyone~
I leave for the world on the 30th! Does anyone leave their glasses on when riding the coasters? @profmatt, I see that you wore them on SDD. I always take mine off and then of course can’t see; contacts are not an option. I’ve thought about getting a strap/eyeglass cord so if they fly off they will still be somewhat attached. What to do???

I always wear mine and for the more exciting rides I have a strap that holds them on. I’m not sure it’s actually ever necessary, but it’s reassuring to know it’s there.

1 Like

Will look for a strap during this madness of Christmas shopping or maybe Amazon Prime will have something! BTW, do you ever sleep? :grin:

1 Like

You can buy them at the parks. That’s where I got mine.

I get up late!

So I can get something very Disney, like covered with tiny Mickeys?

I have been wearing glasses for nearly 40 years and I have never taken them off to ride any ride ever. I am blind without them

1 Like

I’ve also been wearing glasses all of my adult life and it never even occurred to me to worry about a rollercoaster. Probably the roughest thing I’ve done with them is downhill skiing, and even then they would only come off if I were to take a tumble and have a yard sale.

1 Like

My mum got herself a strap with mickeys where it attached to the glasses :grinning:

2 Likes

I wore my glasses on all the rides — SDD, SM, BTMR… totally not a problem. They never felt like they were close to coming off. You’ll be fine!

3 Likes

I use a strap for roller coasters, although nothing at Disney warrants them. But I have been on coasters and actually witnessed glasses being blown off people’s faces. One time, during the main drop on Magnum at Cedar Point, someone’s glasses hovered over our heads. At the end of the ride a guy in the very last car in the train managed to snag them from the air and passed them up!