So can we talk about this DeSantis thing for a minute?

Friends,
DeSantis announced today that effective immediately, he’s moving Florida to phase 3. This allows bars and restaurants to go to 100% capacity. In fact, restaurants have to petition if they want to keep occupancy BELOW 100%. It also removes restrictions on theme parks. Here’s a link:
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.orlandosentinel.com/politics/os-ne-desantis-florida-reopens-20200925-f3sr4wk5tncvvkhwr6ua4pereq-story.html%3FoutputType=amp

Not going to lie- this makes me pretty freaking nervous about my trip in Nov. Positive rates are already about 12% right now. This will increase it. I work in health care and have treated covid positive patients etc but with him punching through the opening phases, while the case numbers are still high, is really skewing my risk/benefit analysis into the negative category.

I also am not interested in being elbow to elbow while trying to eat! I can’t imagine this will help tourism. Here’s hoping Disney realizes the optics don’t look good with this plan and chooses to tow the line.

Thoughts?

11 Likes

I live near Disney… Space Coast… and this bothers me too; A LOT! Someone in another thread said Disney wouldn’t change their policies due to the CM contract. I’m hoping so. I’m going Monday… a hooky day.

8 Likes

Yeah… I hope / believe WDW is going to continue operating with the practices in place. They are still struggling and trying to show the country how “safe” they are. My issue is the locals / APs that will go out to bars / clubs & such then come to WDW on the weekends

8 Likes

I’m going to risk saying something… this move seem politically motivated and not science based. That’s based on what I see. I hope I’m wrong!

17 Likes

That’s exactly my concern. It’s one thing to be in a tourist bubble at Disney but the governor essentially perforated the bubble by relaxing local guidelines!

3 Likes