Rental car vs Disney transportation

(Couldn’t find any recent posts about this)

Help me decide! We are a family of 4 with 2 kids (ages 7 and 9), going on spring break, 7 nights split stay CBR Pirate room/Poly, Park hoppers, no plans to leave Disney. We always rent a car, but we plan to Park hop using Skyliner/boat/monorail.

It seems obvious that the best is to not rent a car, but I have no experience relying on Disney transportation for rope drop and early ADRs and am concerned now with decreased bus times for Skyliner resorts… I don’t want to wait forever in line after park closing.

Any comments from those who recently traveled during CL10 and used Disney transportation? Any regrets?
TIA

I would just use Uber if Lyft for the few early and late times and transportation for everything else. That will be way cheaper than renting a car plus paying to park at the resort.

8 Likes

We recently travelled the second week of December (not CL10 by any means, I think maybe a CL7-8 was the highest), but we will rent a car next time.

We didn’t rent a car this time because we didn’t want to hassle with car seats in the airport and didn’t want to pay resort parking/overall rental fees while staying on property.

By mid week, we regretted our decision and wished we had gotten a rental car. The extra cost would have been worth the time saved by relying on busses. For example, we went from HS to the Contemporary via bus around dinner time and waited at HS almost 45 minutes for a bus to arrive, the it also had to stop at WL on the way.

We also didn’t like the uncertainty of when a bus would arrive. The below screenshot was the bus situation at 9:05 am at WL - we couldn’t tell when a bus would arrive for most of the parks. When we had ADRs, we started just taking Minnie Vans/Lyft because we couldn’t rely on a bus being available (this may not be important to you though, if your ADRs are mostly at Epcot/HS since you will have other options for getting there).