Really strange Q about ears/headbands

I apologize if this is ridiculous/remedial/redundant, but I haven’t been to WDW in almost 15 years.

When did the ears/headbands merchandise become popular? The last time I went, ears were on a tidy black cap, and cast members were reluctant to embroider your name on the cap if it was weird. (Like “Bay,” because one’s parents were hippies or something.)

The headbands which are so popular now are very pretty! But I wore headbands a lot when I was a high school student (October 1980 to May 1984). Some styles hurt! I didn’t wear those a lot, and I stuck to the headbands that didn’t inflict pain on my little noggin.

Are the popular headbands in WDW comfortable? Can you direct me to videos/reviews that will soothe my concerned soul?

thank you in advance!!!

3 Likes

I think the ears are really cute but they’re uncomfortable for me. There might be more comfortable ones available from sellers on Etsy or similar. They didn’t hesitate to stitch my daughter’s…unique name on a cap.

2 Likes

So my daughter wanted a pair to wear on her bday this upcoming trip. I just put them on…They are not super comfortable. They’re not awful but they are a bit tight and a little heavy. I could see a whole day of this getting annoying. But for a dinner or something I’d do it.
Edit: on the bright side I just shook my head side to side and they don’t budge. So that snugness makes them stay on well. I have a smaller head too.

2 Likes

I don’t know about videos. I remember the plastic headbands with the teeth from the 80’s and 90’s. Those were painful.
I think the heavy ears, like the light up Mickey balloon ears, have those same plastic teeth. I read a review somewhere that said they were uncomfortable after a long period,