Question on DVC resale

For those liners that have bought DVC points on the resale market.

A little back round first, I am currently in the market to buy DVC points. I have been researching for several months and I am confident I know how everything works. I am semi-retired and am fortunate to be able to down to the world often, 5-6 times a year ranging 7-9 days per trip. My wife joins me twice a year and the remaining trips I usually go solo, unless I can talk another family member into going. My kids are older, out of the house and not very interested in going. Unfortunately there are no grandkids in my immediate future but hopefully there will be someday. That being said I rarely need anything bigger than a Studio which I currently rent thru David’s

So here is my question: I plan on continuing to stay at BW for the foreseeable future. In order to keep the initial buy in lower I was thinking of buying into OKW, SS or AKL. Since it is not my home resort, in your experience difficult is it to find availability for a Studio at BW 7 months out? Or, should I just pay the extra up front cost at BW so that I would be able to book 11 months out?
Thanks for any insight you can offer.

Studios are the most popular room category. I think the question you need to ask yourself is, how would you feel if you were unable to book a Studio at the Boardwalk - would you be happy to stay at SSR or OKW? If you specifically want to stay at the Boardwalk I say spend the extra money to get that 11 month booking advantage and peace of mind. If you’re really not that bothered and are happy to stay wherever there availability, then let the wallet decide. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I am by no means a DVC expert, or novice for that matter, but I’ve been doing a lot of research about it lately and over and over I see agreement with what Iecras said: Pick a place that you’d be happy to get “stuck” staying at, otherwise you are setting yourself up for disappointment.