Mom's 50th Birthday Trip Report (4/18-4/25)

First (pre)trip report posted here from a mostly lurker! Getting so excited it is hard to contain!

Background:

I am very fortunate to have Disney-loving parents. My dad went once to WDW as a kid in the late 70s, and my mom who grew up in northern CA always wished she could go to DL. After my younger brother was born, my parents took us to DW for the first time. It was love at first sight for all of us, honestly. We vacationed in many places other than WDW, but we always found ourselves coming back. 2012 had been our last trip, before we went in Feb 2018, the year I graduated high school. My parents were able to do WDW more times than I can count because of how frugally they tried to do it. We would pack lunches, stay off property, do about a park per day for only 4 days, etc. Never complained. I was just always grateful for the time with my family.

My partner (who had never been) and I went in Sept 2019, for about 10 days. Stayed at POP then finished up at WL. It was such a fun experience, but I wasn’t sure when it would ever be able to happen again. And not just because of COVID.

My dad had a silent heart attack in 2017, which has led to a painful health journey. A lot is due to his job (previously supervisor/manager working for the FAA) which puts lots of stress on him with little sleep and not enough time to care for himself. In 2019 he started Automated Peritoneal Dialysis (APD) which is done through fluids at home. We have had many health scares over the years, but my dad keeps pushing and waiting for a kidney donor (thank you to organ donors!!! <3). My mom supports him in every way she can, but between that and my debilitating mental illness (hello bipolar!), it puts a lot of stress on her too. I moved out in 2021, but between all of us, we have been exhausted. Which puts us to….