How to handle first time visit to Wizarding World?

Planning a 2-day trip to Universal Orlando in Jan. We have never been. Our kids are 7 and very big Harry Potter fans.(They’ve read (poured over) the first 3 books and seen the first two movies - trying to slow go a little.)

I really want Day One to focus on all things Potter - it’s why we are going. Our first day there appears to be a “2” level day in both parks. We will be staying at an on-site hotel, and IOA has early entrance that day. I have a subscription to Touring Plans and will be using diligently.

Now to my question for experts and Potter fans: For a full-on best experience, does it matter where we start? I really thought we would start in USF, by hitting Diagon Alley, et al, then taking the train across to IOA. Like Touring Plans recommends, and much in the order of one Harry Potter himself. And I really think our kids would appreciate that experience. But the big monkey wrench in that plan is that IOA has early entry. So is early entry definitely worth it, even on a “2” level day? Is there no big difference – even to Potter fans – where you start?

What’s a poor muggle like myself to do? Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

Personally, as a huge Harry Potter fan, I like to take a day and do all things HP in the order he did them. I would start by arriving at USF about a half hour before scheduled opening. Once I was let in, I would head to Diagon Alley and do everything I wanted to do there: ride, shows, Ollivanders, spells, then be sure to talk to the Knight Bus conductor and Dre Head, and then take the Hogwarts Express over to IOA and do everything I want there. I don’t think that missing that EE hour at IOA will hurt you. And I think that doing the Harry Potter experience in that order will more than make up for it.

3 Likes

I hate to be the opposite here, but I would do Forbidden Journey before Gringotts.
Gringotts just blows FJ away! Completely!
And I found Diagon far more impressive than Hogsmeade.