Flying Southwest alone with young child

I am flying Southwest alone with my 6 year old daughter. Can someone please tell me what to expect at boarding? She will freak out if she doesn’t get a seat next to me. Since Family boarding happens between Positions A&B, will we be ok?

If you buy the “early boarding” thing (I believe it’s $15 a person, per way), you should be able to board at the same time without an issue if you buy your tickets at the same time.

However, I’m not an expert and someone might have better insight.

You should buy early bird seating .

1 Like

Do they still have Boarding Positions A,B,C?

Given the age of your daughter, I’d chat with the gate agent and just ask if you can be part of the preboarding group for those with young children. I know this is typically for kids under 2, but as you are on your own, they may make an exception.
For both your outbound and return trips, be sure to check-in online 24 hours before your flight. In my experience, this will get you into group B at least.

I think that you will be fine! We have never had an issue getting seats together during family boarding, even leaving Orlando. I can almost guarantee that no flight attendant is going to make your 6YO sit alone! They will politely request that people move and if nobody volunteers they will use incentives.

If you’re in the same boarding group, you definitely won’t have any issues. If you’re not, a talk with the agent will do the trick. One thing I can say for Southwest that I can’t say for other airlines is that they seem to truly care. I could almost guarantee that even if you’re in separate boarding groups, they will make a way for you two to sit together.

We qualify for Family Boarding. Family Boarding changed and now includes children aged 6 and under.

@melcort10 my DH says the same thing. DD is also quite vocal and she will cry loudly if she has to sit alone. It would be quite dramatic.

@disney1974 I will set an alarm and check-in at the 24 hour mark…