Fast & Furious Supercharged is lame

I feel this is not discussed enough. This ride is so very bad that it is not worth being in anyone’s plan. The unofficial guide’s review is too gentle, the ride is beyond cheesy, it is simply a waste of time.

First, the preshows are beyond bad. This wouldn’t be a problem if they were entertaining but the pre-shows about “being family”, and “going to the party” are simply a waste of time. The Simpsons’ ride short cartoons before the ride at lest get one or two laughs out of you. F&F is boring. Having two live actors in the two preshows is just a waste of talent and a missed opportunity.

Second, the “party” scene is just a waste of ride time. Once you are on a ride, cool things should start to happen. Having yet another preshow style cutscene is just a letdown.

Third, the CGI is really bad. I’m not an FX expert but maybe they could have done something better when it came to modeling human faces and movement. This ride will look dated very fast.

Fourth, it is way to short. So you have three scenes, the “party” scene, the “parking lot” scene, and the “big chase” scene. The first scene doesn’t count so that leaves you with only two scenes making it all feel very anti-climatic.

If you want an idea of what the ride is about, imagine a Kong-style ride with cringe-worth preshows, mediocre CGI and super short (about one third of Kong’s). I would not ride this even if it was a walk-on.

Universal has done very good lately and in many aspects it has outdone Disney many times over but they really dropped the ball with F&F. After riding F&F, I couldn’t shake the feeling that Universal keeps getting dragged back to being a second-tier park.

I’m hoping they eventually replace this with something more interesting. I don’t know what…maybe something that simulates a tornado experience or something? :wink:

4 Likes