Aulani at Thanksgiving

I’m not good at trip reports, and this could very well be a stream of conscience type of thing, but I wanted a place to capture some of my experiences for the next person planning a trip there.

We own at BLT, so we were booking at the 7 month mark. It’s hard for us to visit Hawaii and not see the ocean from our room, so that was the only room type I watched frequently. When I would occasionally look at the other room types, the cheaper views/hotel rooms were pretty consistently booked and looked like people were walking reservations. Ocean view stayed pretty open the whole way, and we used some banked points for 6 nights (x25ppn=150pts). We stayed Saturday 11/18-Friday 11/24.

[Side note we bought a 125pt resale contract in 2014. The math made financial sense for us then, I don’t know if it would be ‘worth it’ today. I made a ridiculous spreadsheet to do a bunch of analysis, so YMMV. We’re now locked into Disney trips until 2060, whereas investing the contract cost could yield funds to vacation elsewhere.]

My biggest complaint of the whole trip is the way they’ve modified Aunty’s Beach House. Now, children have to be pre-booked up to 60 days out. Only for 1.5 hours at time, and only at 8a, 10a, or noon. No spontaneous dropoffs or late night services. This fouled plans of an adults only dinner date. I missed that reservations opened at 60 days, and with the busy holiday week, most time slots were already booked when I realized at roughly the 45 day mark. There are some other activities offered at cost (~$65) for the hours.