Advice for First Timers

We are heading to DL in December for the first time. DH and myself. I have lots of experience with WDW but understand DL is somewhat different.

We are going December 24th to 26th (these dates are set, no flexibility to change them). We have three day tickets with Genie + but not park hoppers. Current reservations are DL on the 24 and 26th and DCA on the 25th.

We are staying at the Solara Inn and planning on walking to the parks and/or using ART. Either way maps shows entering at the shuttle drop off area off of Harbor Blvd and walking in. Is that possible? It looks very straightforward to me.

Our plan is to arrive early and get as much done as we can at opening then leaving at lunchtime and returning later. Is there a possibility that the parks will reach capacity when we are taking a break and we won’t be able to get back in?

What is our best way to see WOC? We will only be at DCA on December 25th so we only have one chance. We are willing to pay to do the dessert party, if it is worth it. I currently have a lunchtime reservation at Wine Country Trattoria with the hopes of getting the dining package but it seems you cannot reserve ahead of time and it is first come, first served. Do I need to worry about them running out of vouchers?

Is the holiday time tour at DL worth it? I have read a few reviews online and I’m still on the fence about it. Does anyone have any personal experience? I see that they are supposed to start up again on November 10 so I plan on checking for reviews for this year’s tour next week.

We know to expect crowds and manage expectations going at Christmas. Roller coasters are not a priority for us, or any ride that is the same as WDW. I am hoping that will help us see everything we want to. We can do long touring days if we need to, but it looks like if we can RD and use LL we can see everything and take afternoon breaks. Any other advice for first timers?

2 Likes