A rare moment of moaning from me

Here in the UK — or Plague Island, as we’ve started to call it — it is now officially Christmas Eve.

2020 has not been an unmitigated disaster for me. There have been some highlights — notably my visit to DLP, and Paris itself, in July.

But it has been a bit of a grind. I’ve worked — I know this makes me luckier than many others — pretty much without a break for the whole year. I’m tired. I want to get away. I want to recharge. And escape.

It is so bizarre to me that for the first time in my life — I’m 51 — I am banned from visiting the USA. I’ve been flying over since the 1970s — whenever I wanted, as often as I’ve wanted: and that’s been a lot. I am likely more widely travelled in the US than many of you. I’ve loved every trip I’ve made. It’s a fantastic country to visit.

If I could, I would get on a plane to Florida tomorrow. My job isn’t stopping me. I run my own business: I can do what I want. Money isn’t stopping me — hell, I have refund money from two cancelled trips from June and October sitting in a savings account.

No, this damned virus is stopping me.

I feel like I’m keeping it together, but that — if I let go of my desperate grip — I could lose it. I have a trip to DLP booked for April, but right now, I’m banned from France, too. Sure, there are vaccines now. So by the time April comes around . . . But there are also mutations and they’ve made the virus worse.

I won’t lie — I’ve found it really tough reading these forums during the last few months. You damned people don’t know how damned lucky you are that you can go to WDW whenever you want. I feel like I’m in prison here.

As you may know, I actually booked a trip for January at the weekend. And cancelled it the next day. Sure, I went a bit nuts. Sue me. What that incident taught me is that (a) I’m a little more fragile than I’d realised right now, but (b) I know how to plan a dream trip to WDW in two hours. I did it once. I can do it again.