What does "Like" mean?

Ok, I know this sounds dopey, but bare with me. I am new to forums, don’t use facebook or any other newfangled mumbo jumbo ;). Why do people “like” posts?? What does it mean?? Sometimes it is clear, a sweet or cute or funny post for example, but sometimes I don’t get it at all. Am I missing something?? PS Please be kind. :slight_smile:

Not dopey at all @B_squared. It is just a way to show appreciation for what someone posts - maybe it made you smile, or laugh out loud, or as you mentioned, it is just sweet or cute. It’s just a way to show someone that you see what they posted and appreciate their effort. At least, that’s my interpretation. I am the first to admit I am not a rocket scientist. Lol!

5 Likes

Agree with @LoveBug53 I also ‘like’ if I think someone has been kind or helpful, or even if I just agree with what they are saying. But then again I don’t do Facebook etc either and am new to all this sort of stuff too!

4 Likes

I must admit I over-think the significance of likes WAY too much. I try not to like anything that has bad news in it, but sometimes I’ll like something after reading the first sentence - maybe a response to something I asked earlier - and then as I keep reading I realize that the end of the paragraph mentions something sad - maybe the person has a cold - and then I get all worried that they might think I’m “liking” the fact that they’re sick, so I unclick the “like” button, but then I worry that they were online right at that very moment and saw that they had 10 likes and then were sad when the number dropped to 9, so I click the “like” again. Ahhhhh! :boom: 10 minutes later, I am usually able to let it go and move on. Don’t be like me!!! Although you can like me if you want. I promise not to read too much into it.

7 Likes

Thank you @splashmommy! You like me! You really like me!

1 Like