Trip Report in brief

We got back on Saturday. For context, we are middle-aged childless misanthropes from the west coast. My husband has been to Disneyland a few times and this was his first trip to Disney World. I have been to Disneyland once a year-ish for since I was 7, and visited Disney World several times when I lived in Florida about 15 years ago.

Highlights

• We were unexpectedly upgraded to Club Level at the Beach Club (thanks to those who helped me figure out that we were allowed to use the lounge!). I ended up bringing home a lot of granola bars and instant coffee packets that had been intended for breakfasts. And also two dozen Ghiradelli pillow chocolates.

• Tiffins. OMG. Best Disney meal I have ever had and one of the best meals ever, period. I’m a baker and plan to do some Tiffins-inspired experimentation with spices in savory breads.

• Expedition Everest is now my favorite coaster, with Slinky Dog a close second. Husband balked at Slinky Dog, so I got to ride four times with Fastpass. Toy Story Land in general is darling and detailed.

• Animal Kingdom, in general, was much better than I expected. I was last there in 2004; they were building EE and I think Rainforest Cafe was the only sit-down restaurant. I don’t like the movie Avatar, at all, but loved Pandora, and we were there on a cool day so the safari was amazing even at 11:30 a.m.

Disappointments

• I’m really sorry to say I was a bit disappointed in the Beach Club. The mattresses in our room badly needed replacing and our room was very noisy. Beeping from Skyliner construction, trucks outside, and ECVs in the halls, and we could basically hear every word from the adjoining room. I eventually downloaded a white noise app and we slept better using that. I didn’t complain because we certainly didn’t want to pack up and move, and were already getting a free upgrade.