Touring Plan Strategies - Park Hopping

Hi All, new here and super excited about all of the data that TP uses. I’m an engineer and love looking at data.

I’m planning on using TPs for the first time on a trip during our 12/6-12/10 visit.

We tend to park hop in the middle of the day. I’ve created separate TPs for each park, which is fine, however I have some questions.

• What are the best ways to plan for unknown 4th+ FP+ which could be in the first or second park? Obviously it would be fantastic to get a FP+ for SDMT in MK, but that is unlikely and I don’t want to plan on it. Do you add extra rides to your TP to compensate for the time you gain when you use a FP+? Do you guess which rides you’ll snag a FP+ for? Do you just drop your TP once you get an unexpected FP+ (ex. FEA)? Do you do something else I haven’t listed?
  • Do you adjust your TP once you’re in the park and things change? We normally adjust our very loose plans based on wait times, from the Disney app. I expect I’ll have some challenges letting go of that method since TPs are planned to a much higher level than our previous “go where the short lines are” method.
  • Has anyone else switched over to using TPs after previously utilizing the Disney app for all planning? Did you go in whole hog or gradually transition? How much (time, rides?) did you gain by using TPs?

I’m trying, but having a tough time believing some of the wait times listed on our TPs, they seem so short! I love the heat maps by hour for the parks and I’m excited to try this. All of this data makes my heart happy.

Thanks for any tips or recommendations!

Ps. Hope I got all of those acronyms right. I tend to use my own acronyms so apologies if any are off, please correct me so I learn the right acronyms for this site.