The Lesser Tier Stuff

I’m studying for an upcoming trip. Hopefully fall 2021 if everything falls into place. I know the dining choices, snacks, drinks, hotels, and rides. UEP will be non-negotiable. Probably 4 park to park days so we can do everything we want to in a RELAXED manner, and enjoy the resort pool mid-day every day, too. Dad (me) and kids will be doing ALL of the big thrill rides more than once. Mom will only go on mid grade thrill rides - think like Slinky Dog Dash as her limit.

I’m starting in on which shows or diversions are the ones that you think are “Do Not Miss.” Mom absolutely loves WDW, even though she thought she would hate it. I do all of the planning, and told her about all of the shows, and diversions, but she still thought of WDW as just a bunch of rollercoasters. I planned out a very good balance of shows and fun stuff, and she was thrilled to go back each time.

Just like WDW, I’m finding it hard to find info on the street shows, and stage shows (if there are any) and parades, and any other little entertainment treasures that don’t get the hype they deserve. Examples in WDW that we loved:
(Yes, I know some things are currently cancelled:)
Epcot street performers like Sergio, The french chair balancers, Chinese Acrobats, Jammitors)
Dapper Dans
Green Army Men Parade
Epcot Jumping Fountains (wish I knew about those before I went the first time)

Mom’s a sucker for any live singing/dancing type of show either on the street or a dinner show (Yes, Hoop De Doo is always a must)

I do know that UOR has these types of street shows. Any general consensus on which ones are “do not miss if you have the time?”

Are there other awesome little diversions throughout the parks (like Epcot’s jumping fountains, or the Green Army Men parade/performance) that are not on any attraction lists?

The first thing I thought of was the Blues Brothers. There has always been a regularly scheduled street show during my visits (pre Covid).

3 Likes