Staying offsite/house rental?

Going back to Disney in May, and had priced out hotels - but given that Yacht Club was pricing out about 1k more than last year, my family wants to consider other options.

Has anyone ever rented a house? My parents are looking at Vrbo to rent, which I have zero experience with. Wondering if anyone knows more? It looks like renting a house would be roughly half the price of staying at a deluxe resort, and we normally rent a car anyway so that’s not an issue.

Also, aside from losing the early fastpass and having to pay for parking, are there any other downsides? Trying to figure out if it’s worth the cost savings.

We stayed in an Airbnb and had a great experience. We loved having room to spread out, as well as a full kitchen. We eat breakfast at the condo and pack our lunches, which we like to do.

We’ve only used VRBO once and had a bad experience with them (in a different location). It’s not enough data to tell you anything, but for what it’s worth.

I stayed off-site for my first two trips at the holiday home of a friend. It was a wonderfully tranquil haven and I loved it.

But it made life that little bit harder in terms of getting to and from the parks.

At Christmas I did my first fully on-property stay. There was no escape to a private bubble, but transportation was blissfully easy.

We always stay offsite. Try HomeAway. Not sure of your needs, but we like a 4 or 5 bdrm in Windsor Hills, which is very close to WDW. We’ve also stayed a little farther out in Davenport and it was fine, too. We love the private pool when we get home. Look for a hot tub if you like that. Some have it, some don’t.

We just did Airbnb and absolutely loved it. We were 20 minutes to MK and 10 to AK. I think if you are willing to rope drop to do the headliners, you’re fine. Not having the 60 day FPP window didn’t hurt us because we didn’t mind rope dropping to hit the high demand rides.

2 Likes