Southwest CC cancel & reapply questions

I would like to cancel my Southwest credit card and reapply to get the 65,000 point bonus so I can earn the companion pass again. I am nervous about the process though since I’ve never tried this before.

Details:

I am 4/24 (four new credit cards in the last two years), so that seems OK.
It’s been longer than 24 months since I received a sign-up bonus on that card.
The current 65,000 point offer runs until 7/14.
My biggest concern is that I recently got a Chase Freedom card and was given a ridiculously tiny credit limit ($800 instead of the $11-14K I am usually given on a card). I am guessing that is because I already had so much credit with Chase (across 4 other cards), but it does make me nervous about the possibility of that happening again.

Questions:

1. Has anyone done this recently who can report their experience?
  2. When I call to cancel am I going to get hassled for the reason why I want to cancel? (Help out an introvert with phone anxiety!)
  3. Do I need to wait a certain amount of time between canceling and reapplying?

Thank you!

1 Like

I did this last year, but the experience should be the same. Cause I’ve done it a few times over the years and it’s always the same. In fact, with the SW card, it was especially annoying as I tried to apply to have 2 cards (two different tiers, which I thought was ok, but SW disagreed, cause I guess they hate money?)

They’ll ask you why you’re closing it, simply state you’re not using the card anymore. If you have an annual fee, you can also mention that. No need to give them any sort of justification beyond “I don’t want it.” If they get pushy(doubt it), request the sign on bonuses along with the upgraded card… if they refuse, then tell them “thanks but no thanks” and follow through with the standard cancelling. These operators do not control your approval of any card, that’s a whole other department that controls that, so you can tell them anything you want.