RunDisney Corral Advantages/Disadvantages?

I’m curious if there are any unique advantages to starting in earlier or later corrals. For example, better interaction with characters earlier? Running noob here, running my first Disney race later this year.

Characters are a big plus for sure but, in my opinion, you also get a better race experience.

runDisney races brings out the walkers in droves and while I strongly support that everyone should exercise not matter their age or condition, they do impact the experience in a negative way. Some groups like to run holding hands effectively creating walls of people that cover the entire road. The amount of people questioning their costumes choices is overwhelming and the first couple of miles are an obstacle course of people standing still either changing socks or discarding capes and the like. Bathrooms get also huge lines if you are near the back.

My suggestion is to qualify for the fastest corral you can.

4 Likes

As someone who finished Princess Half 2017 with the balloon ladies at my back - all of what SneakyPete says. Train to get your time as low as comfortably possible and get your qualifying time in so you get a lower corral.

1 Like

Up until this year, I had been in corral F for the Princess half marathon, which with the current corral system is the biggest. People publish the number in each corral and its something like A-E has 1500-2500 in each, while F has 8000-9000. Then G and H can be big as well. So if you can get a proof of time (POT) race under 2:45 for a half or 5:30 for a full, then you start ahead of a majority of the race. It really hit home last year when my friend was in C and I was in H and we compared pictures. When she ran down main street, it wasn’t crowded and there were photographers. When I rand down main street, it was packed and the photographers had moved!