Rope Drop First Attractions

I am planning a trip to disney in August (21-24 in the parks) and being a software developer I was looking for a way to optimize our park days and stumbled on the touring plans optimization. This looks great but after playing with it a little and also looking through the forums it seems that the app has some difficulty (respectfully so) determining what the first attraction should be since there is a significant difference between whether you are in the beginning, middle or back of the initial wave. I saw some hacks on the forums to create a break or meal event that ends when you would get of the ride so the rest of the plan can then be optimized appropriately.

So the question I have for the collective is what should we rope drop for each park assuming that we are going in for the early admission for onsite guests and plan to probably be somewhere in the middle of the pack. And then what time would you expect to be off of that ride so I can set the break to end then. I realize some things will change for MK with Tron opening but I assume that will be a virtual queue that I will need to add in that morning. It looks like the estimated crowd levels will be 3 for MK, 5 for HS, 4 for EPCOT, and 4 for AK. Any help would be greatly appreciated. We haven’t been to Disney in 4 years so I’m not sure what the best practices are anymore. Thank you.

EDIT: Forgot to mention I don’t plan on doing Genie+ or Lightning Lanes.

2 Likes

This is probably the biggest factor. If you are going to buy ILL, you can avoid the craziest line in each park (FoP, RotR, 7DMT). But if you’re NOT using ILL, you almost certainly will save the most time by hitting the ILL attraction.

The exception is Epcot, where there is still a VQ for GotG. In that case, I would RD Remy, then immediately ride FEA. Get a BG for GotG.

At MK, 7DMT can often be ridden at the end of the night with a short wait, so you could alternatively RD PP or SM.

2 Likes