Pteranadon Flyers (and other 36” height req rides)

Hello! I’m a longtime Touring Plans user, but I’ve never tried the forums before. I’m taking my recently-turned-2-year-old to Universal in April and I’m hoping to get some feedback on rides where he meets the height requirement but maybe isn’t “big” enough for yet. He’s 38 inches tall (99th percentile, average height for a 3 year old) and he’s not one to be scared of much, but he’s also never been on a big ride and is only 26 months old, so definitely closer to baby than preschooler.

To clarify, I’m less worried about spookiness factor and more about safety in the restraints, especially for rides that aren’t just both of us side by side where I can hang onto him. I don’t know that he would know how to hang onto a ride if that was part of being safe on it.

A couple rides I’m not sure about:

1. Pteranadon Flyers—he’s tall and thin, would he be safe in the front seat alone?

2. ET—are the seats manageable for smaller toddlers? Again, he’s tall but slim.

3. Dr. Suess rides—we’re banking on these all being in play, but are any of them particularly rough, etc?

I hope I’m being clear; please let me know if I can provide any other info, or if there are any rides I’m not thinking of. Thank you so much for any advice!!

2 Likes

My daughter was 4, slim and about 38" when we were there last summer. She is 3rd percentile so the same size as your 2-year-old. :sweat_smile:

Personally I would be hesitant to take a 2-year-old on this because I wouldn’t be right by them to comfort them. It’s 100% safe, but my petite 4-year-old (also ~38 inches) was a little scared. You can see a brief video of it at the timestamp:

DD4 was fine on this. Here are a few pics of the ride vehicles:

They are all perfectly smooth and fun for little kids.

4 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

3 Likes