Probably Stupid Questions But I'm Confused

Been to Disneyland as an off site guest plenty, but starting to plan my dream trip to the world as an on site guest. As a result I am new to the magic band and dining plan concept. For the sake of convenience I love the idea of the dining plan and setting up charging to the magic band for table service tips and souvenirs.

I understand the concept of how the magic band gets used for that purpose at quick serve locations and shops. I’m less clear on how that works at table service. How do they know what magic band to charge? Does the wait staff carry around scanners? Do you pay a cashier as you leave? Haven’t found any illumination on that so far. Can someone clarify the actual process for me?

Also, I have heard rumors of duplicate pre-authorizations becoming an issue with magic band charging recently due to a new standing $100 preauthorization policy. Is this a big concern? Or just someone whining because they didn’t take time to understand the rules? Can someone break this down for me or point me to a thread about it?

The TS wait staff will either bring a scanner to your table or bring your band back to wherever their scanner is then return it to you. I have no idea about the magic band charging and preauthorizations.

1 Like

Just to point this out. While the dining plan does cover your meal, it does NOT cover any tips. You can use your magic band to leave the tip.

There seem to have been issues with the hold, but we had no problems. At check in they told us they would put a $100 hold on, and when we had charged more than that, they would increase the hold. We ended up charging less though.

Just a reply on the magic band question and dining.

Your magic band (and anyone in your traveling party) will have all their plans (dining, fast passes, room “key” access) encoded on their bands.