Power Banks

Am I crazy or did I see something about a place within the parks to switch out Power Banks / external batteries? If that’s true, what brand would we need to get to take advantage of that? And how does it work? Any other recommendations?

Also, does one usually get you through the day? I’ve read that you need something if you plan to use your phone for plans/ MDE?

Thanks! I’m a newbie when it comes to these external batteries!

1 Like

Buy yourself one of these. It will easily last you all day!

1 Like

The Anker that @RotR recommended is awesome and what I’d suggest buying to use. We’ve got 2 or 3 for the family and they work very well and are a nice size.

DIS does offer “fuel rods” - looks like they are $30 and you can either recharge it yourself or swap it for a fully charged one at various locations throughout the parks.
https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/guest-services/portable-phone-chargers/

2 Likes

This in-park option is news to me. Sounds pretty convenient, especially if you forget to bring your own battery. But since the one on Amazon costs less than this (currently $23.99), and it will provide more charges than the Disney one, I personally would buy the Anker one. I have no idea what the brand is that Disney kiosk will dispense, but I’d bet it isn’t Anker. I will say that the Disney one at $30 which includes cables, it is a surprisingly reasonable price for an in-park item.

1 Like

I’m more the of the opinion that packing your own larger battery is a more betterer option (that is my professional IT advice.) I don’t want to be looking for kiosks, and my kids can drain a battery in 48 nanoseconds.

But, if you think the Fuel Rod concept works for you (they are at some airports too), then be aware they sell them online for only $20. There is also $5 shipping - but if you need to buy multiple rods they shipping remains $5 if you order them all together.

(BTW: If I ever put a band together I am now naming it Multiple Rods. ROCK ON.)

1 Like