Please Help! Split Stay or DVC Rental

Hi Liners. So using this wonderful website I have already started the planning and booking our May 2016 second ever WDW vacation. We are a family of 5 - dh, dw, 2 tween dd and ds 6. This is my first time posting a question so pardon if I ramble too much… Super excited but so overloaded with information I was wondering if you could help with our problem.
I had it all worked out for a split stay at AOA for 4 nights (kids love the theming and space) and POR for 3 nights (husband loves keeping his money and the not soo much theming of Finding Nemo :wink: ), using hopefully a RO discount when released and no DDP. My parents (in their late 60s) were invited and have now decided to join us. And bonus they have offered to pay for our tickets.:blush: Long story short I feel so bad that they will be at POR while we are at AOA for four nights that I looked into DVC rental points for a 2 BR Villa at AK Kidani through DVC Rental Store. Kind of on a whim thinking No Way! Sure enough they came through and looks like one is available about the same cost of my parents at POR for the week and us doing a split stay…
So questions finally

1. I know everyone’s different but would you do it? Should I cancel my RO reservations and book through DVC rental store? I have read everything so I understand the risk. However I really can’t find anyone who went there and ended up with no room. Should I look somewhere other than here or DIS boards forum? Has anyone had a problem with reservation?
  2. I already purchased travel insurance (Travelex) and was thinking I would definately have my mom and dad purchase a policy for themselves. Would one of their names have to be on the rental agreement for an insurance claim to go through if they needed to cancel? Or should we do one policy that covers us all? I will be calling the insurance company on Monday but just wondering if anyone knew.