Our Recent DL Trip in Hindsight, Tips & Advice

I am a veteran of many trips to Disneyland, as a Teacher/Chaperone, Parent, and now Grandparent, and every trip yields new Park wisdom. Our SoCal trip was from Sept. 7-17. I selected those dates by consulting the Touring Plans Crowd Calendar and comparing several months (Spring & Fall, NEVER PEAK SEASON) crowd calendar data for the past two years. We are not Halloween people so we wanted to avoid as much of that as possible, and we did avoid most of it. Mostly we wanted to avoid the Halloween Party days at Disneyland because they close DL early, which last trip really increased the crowd level in Disney California after DL closes! We did the 5-day Park Hopper tickets that I purchased ahead of time online from aRes Travel (a San Diego Travel Agency recommended by Mousesavers.com). First time we did that and it saved us a significant amount of $, printed our tickets out at home and went straight to the park entrance where we traded our printed ticket for Disney’s Tickets. Fast, painless, no worries! I tracked discounted tickets at Undercover Tourist and aRes Travel (both recommended by Mousesavers.com) for about two months before our trip, next time I will do it for longer. Check frequently because the discounts change. I missed one terrific deal that was only available for about a week by hesitating. I also purchased discounted Lego Land and Universal Studio Tickets from aRes Travel as well, and all went smoothly. If I could do it over again, I would fork over the additional $10/ticket and purchase MAX PASS! There are lots of great You Tube videos on the MAX PASS. Why spend $10 more per ticket for already expensive tickets, I’ll tell you why. Even on low crowd days, you can expect 30 min. to 50 minute wait times on all the best, most popular rides. MAX PASS allows you to get more Fast Passes quicker than the regular Fast Pass system; more time riding rides less time waiting in lines. PLUS you can reserve a Fast Pass for