October, December, April, August — what is Mousematt doing next?

This is one of those threads that’s more for my own benefit, but some people might find it interesting.

Technically, next up for me is a trip to WDW in October. Woot. Except there are so many reasons for not taking this trip that it is almost certainly not going to happen. First, the travel ban (ahem) is still in place and the latest speculation is that it might not be lifted until November. Second, Florida is a festering pit of COVID and it’s a hell of a risk to travel there, not least because if I were to test positive before my return flight, I wouldn’t be allowed to fly home and then what? Third, the timing isn’t great for me. As a self-employed person I can take vacations whenever I want, but as a teacher I like to work to the same schedule as schools and they’re not on a break when my trip is due to take place. Finally, if I take this trip I will use up my flight voucher to do so. That means my summer 2022 trip costs will rise because I’ll need to pay for the flights. I have no budget for this.

My next reservation is for DLP in December. I got a great rate for this because I chose early mid-December, when the schools are still in session. It’s three nights at Sequoia Lodge, which is DLP’s version of WL, except it’s more of a budget hotel. The rooms don’t look great to me, but I have romantic notions of the public spaces being magical at Christmas. I have three nights, and pretty much three full days. I may well take one day to go to Paris itself, as I did during my trip last year. This trip will happen unless COVID goes nuts again and the UK or France make the trip impossible. Which is what happened to me in April this year, when I got an amazing rate for a two-night stay the Disneyland Hotel, which is DLP’s version of GF. I’ll never see rates like that again and, besides, the hotel is closed now for a major refurbishment.