Movies vs Port Orleans

Hello! I am new to Touring Plans!

We are planning our 4th (my 5th) visit to Disney next October. It will be myself, DH, my 8yo DS, and 2yo DD. We currently have reservations at AS Movies in a Preferred Room for 7 nights, park hopper add on, and dining plan.

Of my 4 prior visits, 3 have been on site - Pop Century (2006 before kids), AS-Movies (2010), and AofA (2012 - LM room). While I loved the theming at AofA, we weren’t crazy about the LM area because of the long walk to the food court/buses. At night, it felt like we would die carrying a sleeping 4yo back to the room. We did love Pop, but I’ve read mixed reviews lately.

Some changes for this trip:

1. We will drive down (as we always do) but we usually take Disney transportation everywhere. I’m thinking we will likely drive to the parks (except maybe MK) this time instead of taking the buses.
  2. We are thinking we may bring our dog with us and board him at Best Friends Kennel.
  3. I have recently been diagnosed with pretty significant arthritis in my hip so not having extra walking around the resort will be a big deal for me.

Here’s my question(s) - when they start releasing discounts, if they release a decent room discount, I am considering changing my reservation to one of Port Orleans resorts, since its closer to the kennel and we’ve never stayed in a moderate. Which one is better - Riverside or French Quarters? And I guess my biggest question is this: is it really worth it to upgrade from a value to a moderate and, if so, why?

Thanks in advance for answers to my questions or any advice!

Hi. I enjoy both Port Orleans resorts, but if you are looking for less walking French Quarter is probably for you. It is much smaller than Riverside, and even smaller than the value resorts. Here is why we choose mods over the values every trip:

1. Bed size. The mods have 2 queens, the values have 2 doubles.