Minor Warning - Disney Visa My Chase Plan

I’ve been using the Disney Premier Chase Visa for about 15 years, and I have never had any significant problems with it. I’m sure many of you have enjoyed using it as well. I wanted to give everyone a little heads-up about the My Chase Plan that they offer.

In short, this plan allows you to pay monthly for a qualifying purchase. You can choose a six-, twelve-, or eighteen -month payment plan. However, as I later found out, it is only the first plan that you arrange that you can do it with no fees and no interest. Subsequent plans will carry a monthly fee.

I had seen the availability of the My Chase Plan for quite some time, but I never had looked into it because I assumed there were fees associated with it, and I always pay off my balance each month. However, after renewing my wife’s and my Annual Passes, out of curiosity I thought I would check it out.

I tapped on the transaction for my Annual Pass purchase, which was a little more than my wife’s since I added the Memory Maker. I selected the twelve-month option, and the app displayed information that broke down the amount of the monthly payment and added: “This amount includes a monthly fee of $0.00 with no interest.” We have had a number of unexpected expenses recently, so I thought, “Why not spread that cost out a bit?” and set that up.

I wasn’t sure if I would receive the same deal if I were to set up another one for the amount of my wfie’s Annual Pass. Again, out of curiosity, I tapped on the transaction for hers. I was pleasantly surprised when I saw that it also stated: “This amount includes a monthly fee of $0.00 with no interest.” So, I set that plan up as well and called it a day.

Within a few minutes I received an e-mail verification for each of them. However, the e-mail for the second plan said that there was a monthly fee of $6.86. Now, had the app indicated this, I wouldn’t have selected it. I’d much rather save the $80+.