Late Summer: To Go or Not To Go?

Hey! First-time poster here with a (probably) silly question…

Here’s the deal: I visited WDW for the first time this past February and had a blast (yay for solo travel!). I started planning my next trip basically the day I got back. I know that another winter trip is possible, but I don’t want to wait that long, haha! My dilemna is that I really, REALLY dislike heat and humidity (and large crowds) so I know that I don’t want to visit at the height of the summer season. But I am also a part-time teacher and really can’t get away much once school starts. Sooo… here’s what I’m thinkin’…

Take a long-ish trip (~12 days) right at the end of August and into the beginning of September, before school starts for me but when the crowds are apparently much lighter than most of the summer. Spend my mornings and mid-days safe and sound in the cool and comfort of my hotel room and work (in addition to teaching, I also have an online job that I can work from anywhere). Then head to the parks in the late afternoon/early evening and enjoy myself until the parks close. Sleep. Repeat.

Is this even worthwhile or realistic at all? Will I instantly melt when I step out of my air-conditioned hotel at 4pm, or will it be at least somewhat cooler once the sun isn’t straight above my poor head? And are the crowds light enough at this time of year to make 4 or 5 hours of touring each evening worth it? Since I was just there a few months ago, I don’t have a strong need to do and see everything there is to do and see this time around…hitting my favorite rides, seeing my favorite shows, checking out Pandora and Rivers of Light, and exploring every nook and cranny of World Showcase are on my wishlist for this particular trip.