Its the judgment that worries me

My trip is at the end of August, and honestly, its the judgement from other people that is worrying me the most. Its a mother daughter trip with DD6. I have had ample discussions with my husband regarding Disney’s safety protocols, as well as Jet Blue and our own mask ordinances in MA. He is perfectly fine with us going. In reality, we both work in healthcare and are likely being exposed to Covid at work (he, more than me, since he is medic and I work in a lab and have little patient contact) and have so far neither got it nor spread it to our daughter. We haven’t been out doing recreational things even though our state is on phase 3 of opening.
But the feeling of being judged for going to Disney during this whole ordeal is really stressing me out to the point where I think I may just tell everyone I cancelled and go dark on social media for the week.

17 Likes

Haha. I think that’s a good plan! I have a trip planned for the end of Sept, but honestly, I cannot take the pressure of the Disney-pull any more. The low wait times, and pictures of the castle have fully engaged the tractor beam, and I just booked a trip for 2 weeks from now. I just can’t resist anymore!!

Granted, I’m also in healthcare, and I’ll be traveling from my home hotspot (Arizona) to the FL hotspot…so it seems like I have the same risks either way. Maybe even less risk at Disney because of their new protocols, and because I won’t be working directly with patients. Whatever. I’m going. And I’m not opposed to going dark on social media for a weekend. I think it’s brilliant. And I’d definitely rather be dark, and enjoy the Disney magic with just my husband and I than deal with negative junk on social media.

13 Likes

That is our exact plan for our November trip. Have already told friends that we cancelled our Disney trip. Neither DM or me use social media much anyways.

7 Likes