Is it better make FP for right when park opens or closer to mid day?

Is it better make FP for right when park opens or closer to mid day (10-2pm)? I’ve been reading the Undercover tourist book and the touring plans for MK and AK say to book first FP for 9 am. 9 am is when the park opens, so it seems wasteful to use a FP when the standby line might not be too bad.

My 60 day window opened today and here’s is what I booked. I am thinking about shifting things so the first FP is closer to 10am, and then 11am, 12/1 (last FP). This is my first time to WDW, so just wanted to get your thoughts.

MK
7 Dwarfs 905am, Haunted Mansion 1010am, Big Thunder Mtn RR 1115

AK
FOP 915am, Killiman Safari 1025am, Dinosaur 1130am.

If you truly plan to rope drop, or show up for EMH, then getting your first FP an hour after opening makes more sense then at opening itself. This way you can get several things done before first FP, particularly if you use your FP toward the end of the window.

But it also pays to get FP done early so that you start getting fourth, fifth, etc, as soon as possible.

1 Like

Those 9:00 FPs do not need to be used until closer to 10. For example, you go to space or Peter Pan first, maybe WtP and Under the Sea, then head to 7DMT. After that, you head to your HM FP. You are good.

1 Like

I’m going to be contrarian. Hit your 9:05 and 9:15 fast passes towards the end of their window. Hit other rides close by before (nominal waits) and you will be done with fast passes and on to number 4 early. Not a bad plan.

2 Likes