"I will ride, I will fly; Chase the wind and touch the Sky"e - A Scotland Trip Report

Who: Mis Padres in their late 60s - early 70s and Hubby and I in our early 40s. Very adult trip but an active one!

What & Where & When: 18 total days mostly in Scotland from Edinburgh thru the Highlands and Isles with a popover in London. DH has never been to London so we’ll do a whirlwind dinner and open top bus tour so he can see the sights at night all lit up.

Too Much?

Why: DH and DF(ather) are both huge Scotch lovers/collectors and so really, they drove this trip. My DB(rother) went to Scotland for a backpacking trip and really loved it. I believe he talked my mom into being interested and so that’s where with this started though we won’t be doing more than day hiking. But we did plan lots of nature stops, castle stops, and whiskey stops.

This is my first time using a travel agency (Luxury Scotland Tours) to plan most of it which weirdly almost stresses me out more control freak that I am LOL Like did they book all the right hotels/rooms/dinners, etc. I did of course add some sprinklings of my own here and there and I’ll call that out.

In preparation, I have watched lots of Youtube videos including Babies with Scottish Accents (LOL), Men in Kilts of course (Sam Heughan is my Hall Pass!), Braveheart, Outlaw King, Brave of course!, Outlander, Harry Potter films, Skyfall, and I’d like to catch Highlander if I can on the plane. I’ve seen it but it’s been years. I am prepared to drive on the left side of the road (as I’ve done this in NZ so I feel confident) and ready to replace the word yes with aye. What else do I need? :wink: