How to keep the spontaneity

Hi! We are traveling with another family at the end of August. There will be 9 total. We are picking our FP in a couple of weeks. Then it comes time to make my touring plans ( 1st time using them). My friends are concerned about using the plans and not having any spontaneous fun. How do you make a great plan but still have time to do unplanned things? They don’t want to follow a rigid schedule. I really don’t blame them. That’s why I’ve never used one before. However, I feel we need one with the crowds and heat.

1 Like
  1. The plans are a guide. They help to structure your day so that you don’t stand around staring at the park map and trying to figure out what to do next. They help you to know what attractions have the lowest waits at which part of the day so you don’t wait 45 minutes now, when you can ride later and wait just 10.

2. Plan to use them as a guide, and to make modifications as the group desires. Call an audible if you’re suddenly heat zapped. Wait for a character you didn’t know you needed to meet. The plans are just guides, not strict rules you must follow to the letter.

3. Set your walk speed to as slow as possible, and also set to walk less vs wait less. By doing that you’ll keep your plans in the same general area and avoid criss crossing, and the slowest speed will build some time into your plans for things like snacking, shopping, restroom breaks, and the like.

4. Place actual BREAKS into the plan to afford even greater flexibility while still maintaining a good sense of which attractions when and for what wait time.

6 Likes

Did you mean set to “walk less”? I would assume that would reduce criss-crossing.

If you could get buy-in to follow plans for the 1st 1.5 hrs of each day, that would go a long way.

1 Like

It absolutely would. The first two hours are the most crucial, up til noon for the next bit, afternoons and evenings far less so

1 Like