Gosh, so many rides were down today

I’m a newbie to Disney, but we were at the parks today and were so disappointed at how many rides were closed for technical difficulties. We arrived at 2 PM, right along with afternoon rain showers that put every single outdoor ride out of order for 5 hours or so. But the kicker was that sooooo many of the indoor rides were also down. At one time, Space Mountain, Country Bear Jamboree, Small World, and Haunted Mansion were all also down for technical difficulties, and that’s on top of every single outdoor ride. (And those were just the ones that we tried to ride, but were turned away.) Is it normally like this?

We had a FP for 7DMT that converted to an anytime, but the FP wait was so long we couldn’t make it work with child swap once it reopened. So we went to our next FP for Space Mtn. It was up again, but then went down again so my husband didn’t get to use his swap. We were told up the swap would expire and not get extended. We then rode Buzz with our third FP, so we effectively only managed to use that one FP the whole afternoon. We asked a cast member if they could extend the anytime FP so we could get the kids to bed. He did, and I happened to snag my only extra FP for Tink on my way out of the park. We badged in but waited for over 30 minutes without the FP line moving even a single person. We left without seeing her to find that it had used our everytime for me and my husband, but the Tink FP for my daughter. So the anytime FP were effectively gone since my 5 yo can’t ride alone. Gah. I can’t even bring myself to stand in another line to see if they can fix it. We stood in soooo many lines today that ended in the ride going down with nothing to show for it. So much waiting out terrible rain. So many times arriving at a ride to find it down. Over and over.