First Night Dinner

Once again my fellow Liners I need your help. I’m a Disney veteran but my DW, DS (12) and DD(5) are all rookies. We are going down for 8 nights in September and I think I need all of your creativity to help me think outside of the box. In terms of dining for the trip, the only dinners that are locked in for us are Via Napoli, HDDR, and Victoria and Alberts (if we can get a reservation of course) for the wife and I. We are staying at the Poly so at some point I figured we would eat at Ohana as well. But back to the point of this thread. My plan originally was to do Chef Mickeys for dinner on our first night. I thought the characters and the experience of the monorail at the Contemporary would be a cool way to start our trip. However, I’ve never been a huge fan of the food at Chef Mickey’s, although I know it’s not really about the food there. I’m just not sure if it’s the right meal to start the trip. Would love to hear everyone’s thoughts about this and any suggestions anyone has.

Are your kids Mickey fans? (Sometimes we do dinners for other reasons :grinning:) Have you thought about maybe Raglan Road in DS? The music and dancers and the entertainment around DS makes for a fun night.

1 Like

Few places “feel” like Disney the way that the Contemporary does. I like this idea. In fact, we did this very thing on one trip a few years back.
You’ll do a few things at once: ride the monorail (which staying at the Poly might be a daily thing for you), meet several of the main characters in a cool setting, and see the Contemporary. You’ll definitely know your in Disney!
Make sure you have autograph books before you get there!

2 Likes

How about Crystal Palace. That will put you in MK and give you characters.