Federal Judge dismisses Disney First Amendment Lawsuit

2 Likes

Well that sucks. I feel as if this went to court many months ago we MAY have seen a different verdict.

1 Like

Boooo :pensive:

1 Like

Winsor said the law prohibits plaintiffs from bringing a free speech challenge to constitutionally enacted laws.

Isn’t that the purpose of the lawsuit they filed? If a law violates the Constitution or an amendment of… is it really a “constitutionally enacted law”?

1 Like

I think the court is saying the steps they took to disband and then create the new board were done legally, even though the impetus for the change was retaliation against free speech that Disney made.

1 Like

But if it’s dismissed did they really hear the arguments? To me “dismissed” and “loosing” are 2 different things

3 Likes

This is where I’m having trouble following:

" from bringing a free speech challenge to constitutionally enacted laws."

I’m not a lawyer so I don’t know all the very specific things that were filed by Disney. But I was under the impression that Disney is suing DeSantis- not challenging a law itself. They are challenging the retaliation against freedom of speech. To have it dismiss- not even heard in court- seems biased. But maybe Disney did challenge the law in the lawsuit?

1 Like

They are different. Basically the court said there’s no evidence that the actual process of disbanding and then creating the new board was done illegally so they can’t put them on trial for doing so

1 Like

This really blows my mind though. Because motive should matter. Right? And you would think Disney attorneys surely knew what the can and can’t sue a person for. I wonder is part of the suit involves rolling back the decision to disband Ready Creek.
And is there a difference in suing a person in a offical government capacity vs as a private citizen? I though it was more difficult to sue government…
All good questions (at least to me, lol)

2 Likes