Early Check-in vs. Room Upgrade

Newbie here so I’ll be sure to show off my ignorance by asking a question you all have probably answered many times before. The Unofficial Guide suggests asking for a room upgrade at check-in (which I intend to do, realizing there’s little chance we’ll get one), but the mydisneyexperience site is already prompting me to start the early check-in process. I’m operating under the assumption that if I check-in early, so we don’t need to go to the front desk on arrival, there will be no opportunity to request a room upgrade. Am I wrong about that? Thanks in advance.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum! Interesting that they tell you that. I believe most upgrades are assigned prior to check in and are impacted by your length of stay and available rooms. I have been upgraded multiple times during one and two night stays. I always do online check in and I have never asked for an upgrade.

I hope it works for you. You can always do online check in and still go to the desk. Let us know if you get an upgrade!

5 Likes

This was my first thought. I’ve never asked for an upgrade, but I know folks who’ve received one. It never hurts to ask! When I’m asking for something a little extra, I usually go in with an expectation of being told no, and keep a smile on my face and in my voice no matter what. I think a good attitude goes a long way! Good luck! Where are you staying?

5 Likes

Thank you. We’re staying 7 nights at the Polynesian. I’ve honestly never asked for an upgrade before either, but there’s a first time for everything I guess.

2 Likes

What view did you book? Regular resort rooms?

2 Likes

Yessir. “Resort view”.

2 Likes

As long as you haven’t gone in the room (and even if you do, though it’s more complicated for them), they can always change your assignment after you’ve done online check-in.

If your priority is getting a room fast, do online check-in and go straight to your room.