DVC Waitlist..how long if ever?

We currently have a room booked for 9/21-9/27 at SSR. I waitlisted a room at Boardwalk Villas. How often to waitlist request get fulfilled? I don’t want to get my hopes up about Boardwalk if it’s not even a possibility. And it’s 6 points cheaper to stay at Boardwalk vs SSR. Any insight would be helpful. This is my first time waitlisting a room thru DVC.

I’ve not waitlistd before either. However 2 things come to mind, based on reports from others.

1. If you’re waiting for 6 nights, that means someone having to cancel almost a week long stay. If you’d consider a split stay, you could do 2 waitlists, each for 3 nights, which might increase your chances.

2. Regardless of this, you need to be checking the RAT yourself, ideally at least twice a day. Even if your waitlist is matched, until a CM actions it, it won’t be automatically filled. You may find it yourself and can phone in.

Good luck.

I did read where it’s better to waitlist shorter stays. But that leaves me wondering if it will be better to cancel my current waitlist and do smaller ones. If I do that I’ll get bumped back to the bottom of the waitlist.

I’ve had 100% success with 3 or fewer night waitlist requests. Our trip for November is currently 6 nights in a 2BR villa at BLT, but now we will only have 4 people, so we’d like to go down to a 1BR. Because I know that shorter waitlist requests are more likely to be successful, we’ve chosen to make 2 separate requests for 3 nights at Beach Club and 3 nights at Grand Floridian. I called DVC to do this, so they could put in a note that said if either of the requests comes through then we want to shorten our original reservation for the 2BR. The notes are changeable without canceling the waitlist request, so whenever the first one comes through we can call and have them change the note on the remaining request to say that if it comes through then we want it to replace our original booking.