Disneyland land by land touring dilemma

Hey Folks,

My family is heading to Disneyland for the first time on March 25th for 4 days. We’re a family of 5. My wife and I, our kids are 24, 13, and 8 (gives me time to pay for college lol). We’re huge Disney nerds. This is a trip of a lifetime. So we’re staying at the Grand Californian. In fact we’re meeting good friends of ours, and their family of 3 is also staying there. We’re hoping for connected rooms. (fingers crossed)

I’ve spent weeks researching, reading, planning. I’m a DisneyWorld Veteran. What I’ve learned is Disneyland is a different planning animal. Because they don’t have the magic band, and we don’t pick our fastpasses until we enter the park (we’re getting maxpass) It’s almost as if we don’t need to plan much at all. But I can’t help myself. I’ve used touringplanns to plan out all 4 days so that we hit every ride and attraction. With our fav’s (or expected fav’s) multiple times.

We’ve made Dining reservations at Carnation Cafe, Tortilla Joes, Napa Rose, and Catal. We’re going to the Food & Wine festival for most other meals. Food is a big part of our trip. We’ve got snacks in mind as well.

Here’s my dilemma. You only get a first time once. I’ll never forget our first family trip to WDW. It’s one of the best trips we’ve ever had as a family. We didn’t plan at all for that trip. We wandered and explored. Taking in everything with awe and wonder. It was truly magical. I realize that you can’t do that kind of trip at WDW anymore. Without booking fast passes at 60 days forget about riding your fav’s unless you’re willing to drop drop everyday - and if you’re lucky get a few fast pass drops - you’ll end up in a lot of long lines.