Disney, Universal, money, and me — an oversharing thread

The point of this post is really to help me put my own thoughts into some kind of order. I find writing things down very helpful. I guess it’s the same reason some people are into journalling. I’m not, incidentally, looking for sympathy, though some understanding wouldn’t go amiss.

I spent some time last night with my beloved spreadsheets and I had something of a reality check. My income right now is down about 25% compared with this time last year. That is bad. I’m not clear on the reasons why, though there are a number of possibilities.

Last year, I was fully booked by the end of August. Given that my year starts in September, to be fully booked before the year even started was extraordinary. This year? We’re midway through October and I’m at 75%. It’s never been this bad before. I’ve been tutoring on my own account since 2006.

Perhaps it’s the economy. Things are bad in the UK and they’re getting worse. My domestic fuel bills have risen by 60% in the last year. Until today, the government had promised to keep the rise at that level for two years. Today they announced they were reducing that to six months. This causes uncertainty and anxiety. There had previously been talk of increases amounting to perhaps another 60%.

In June my landlord raised my rent by 7% and I agreed / was forced to agree to further increases of that amount for the next three years. (Finding a landlord who will accept a tenant with a dog is almost impossible. I did a search around renewal time to see what my options were. There were 80 properties in my price range. When I filtered by “pets allowed” that dropped to 4. And none were places I’d want to live.) Meanwhile, inflation is pushing 10%.