Credit Card Rewards and Disney Vacations

I’ve recently started paying more attention to earning credit card miles/cashback on purchases, though at this point I am far from an expert on the topic. Today, I came across this article that may be of interest to other Liners: 10 ways to save money on a trip to Disney World - The Points Guy

Some interesting things that I noticed;

• The Disney Visa card doesn’t earn you a whole lot in terms of rewards (though if you can get the $200 sign up bonus and/or if you are dining at places where the 10% discount applies and you have no other dining discounts/dining plan, then it could make sure for you)
  • Disney ticket purchases may not be coded as “travel” by your credit card (which could effect the rewards you earn)
  • From the comments section, there are other ways to purchase gift cards at a 5% discount besides the Target Red Card. These seem to be using a rewards card that offers bonuses for gift card purchases at grocery stores or office supply stores, where you can purchase Disney gift cards and the rewards equate to 5% cashback. I still think the Red Card is easier (and you don’t have to wait for your cashback), but I suppose there’s a possibility of a bigger bonus if the credit cards ever offer a promotion with extra points for these purchases.

Does anything stand out to you from this article? Is there anything you would add from your experience?

1 Like

I think it is funny that they do not mention the no annual fee a Disney card. Is that not still offered? I cannot justify the annual fee Disney card but I feel I receive almost all of the benefits and use it just for limited purchases ( usually Disney related).

Very interesting - thanks for sharing!

I still see a card with no annual fee listed on the Disney card website: https://disneyrewards.com/compare-cards/