Can you hang a paper banner on your stateroom door?

Can you hang a paper banner on your stateroom door as long as it’s held up with magnets and not adhesive? It’s my wife’s birthday on this cruise, and I was thinking of hanging a banner or posterboard and some crayons by magnets and asking people to leave her a birthday note. Is this a really bad idea? :smiley:

I’ve never done DCL (or any cruise) before.

Here is our door from 3 years ago. This was quite tame compared to some decorations that were on our cruise. (We cruised over KY Derby weekend, so that’s the connection.) I had magnets on the back of the cutouts.

There were also elaborate Fish Extender hangers for trading gifts (if you signed up to be part of an exchange).

I would think the banner ought to be fine, but perhaps attach something with a cap versus a crayon so it doesn’t accidentally mark on the door.

Honestly? I think having a bunch of markers or crayons out is pushing it - way too much chance of mischievous kids grabbing them and creating their own “art” on walls, and if they can trace the markers/crayons back to you then you would be responsible for the damage. If you really want to I’d have one tied onto a magnet IF you do it.

BUT they are still not allowing the ugly and hallway-clogging fish extenders (thank goodness) because they don’t want congregating in the hallways, so I don’t know that what you want to do would be allowed.

Better to get her the birthday button on the cruise and one of those sash and tiara things if you want her to have attention.

What I think would be more fun (and what my sister and I did for our dad though they ended up changing their cruise) would be to do a “card shower” and have everyone she knows send a card to arrive while you’re on the cruise so that she has a ton of cards when she returns.

1 Like