Best Rope Drop Strategies Spring Break

This is my first time creating a post! :slightly_smiling_face:

Apologies if this has already been discussed a lot, but I need someone to break it down like I’m five years old… We’ll be in WDW 3/26-4/6 with a car, but are also fine with taking busses and Ubers. My question is, for each park, what are the best strategies for rope drop? Drive there an hour before, Uber somewhere nearby then walk, get a breakfast reservation nearby then walk, catch the bus an hour before…? My brain hurts.

2 Likes

Where are you staying? That can affect the answers.

All Star Movies

Walkers can arrive the earliest at MK, EP (IG entrance), HS. No one can really walk to AK.

It sounds like it’s often a toss-up between buses/rideshares/your own car at AK, HS, EP (main entrance) for which vehicle gets there first. Those three hold cars at the parking entrance until about 1 hr before park opening. Show up much ahead of that (15 min?) and they just tell you to keep driving around.

At MK, buses go directly to the MK parking lot, while cars go to the TTC, where you then have to take time to take monorail or ferry to MK. I think rideshares also drop off at TTC if you say you want to go to MK. MK tollbooths are like the other 3, opening about an hour early, otherwise drivers circle around until then.

Here’s the tricky part:
If you want to be a walker at MK/EP/HS, then you need to be dropped off/drive yourself and park at a nearby hotel. Most hotels won’t let you do that without an ADR, or maybe a mobile order but some places like CR are really strict on not even a mobile order. BUT: Swan/Dolphin let you get dropped off there, or park (daily charge but you can dine there and get it validated). You can also use rideshare and get dropped off at the Speedway gas station to walk to HS/EP (mostly for HS). If you’re going to EP (opens later than HS) you can also bus to HS then walk/boat/skyliner to EP to be like an early walker.