Absolute Beginners (And a few old hats)... A Blended Family Trip July 2022

Starting to think a bit more carefully about planning this trip…

Our party -
I’m Becca, 39 and this is my 12th trip - my last was a week solo in August 2019.
DP Pete, 46, well-travelled but a Disney first timer.
DSS x 2 aged 13 and 11, Disney first timers
DS x 2 aged 10 and 8 - last trip was 2017
DD aged 6 - last trip was 2017
TBC but most likely DS - will be four months

7/23, 13 nights in a 2BR at BWV, on rented points. Nervous as can be about what happens if the world caves in again, but honestly, it was the best option that allowed us to have three separate sleeping areas, connected, and onsite. We have Ultimate tickets, so adding Genie+ wasn’t a terrible price, so we went ahead and did that.

Some early thoughts -

1. Best form of transport from the airport. Would usually rent a car but that plus parking per night cost feels prohibitively expensive.
  2. Stroller rental companies.
  3. Aiming for two days on, one day off.
  4. Does one have to get (and activate) a park pass in order to just wander the F&W booths in the evening?
  5. Probably going to order Magic Bands via a VPN because I don’t want the kerfuffle of doing things on my phone with terrible battery life. Just figuring out when to wait to do this.
  6. Flight arrives at 8pm. I’d traditionally do a first night something at the Poly but this is probably mad after a day’s travelling. How to lower-key achieve that feeling.
  7. I like doing everything. Even the meh stuff. Except maybe the Dumbo-variants and kiddie-coasters, I probably skip those. I have been terrified by the Haunted Mansion since I was five. That has not gone away with age. I don’t do that. I’ve weaned myself to the extent that I can listen to the music in the car, though.
  8. How to create magic for gamer teens/tweens.
  9. Is Garden Grocer still the best bet for those coming from overseas?
  10. Kennedy Space Center day trips - organised or DIY somehow?