WWYD-How many days?

If you were going to do a park-focused trip, how many days is enough/too much? Don’t consider finances or other commitments. Only consider exhaustion, things to do, crowds, and fun! Stipulation is you have to do parks for the majority of every park day but you can take just 1 rest day total. Maybe RD-dinner or late start-close?

We are planning to do 9 park days during our trip in addition to a “rest” day in the middle (1E, 2MK, 3AK, 4HS, 5MK, 6rest, 7E, 8AK, 9MK, 10TBD on departure day). I’m second guessing my plans 2 weeks out as I’m worried we will get burnt out especially with the high spring break crowds (today, even Barnstormer posted a 60 min wait!) and I’m not good at calling audibles to bag an evening or skip a RD on the fly. 4 kids ages 7-17? Too much?

I doubt that you’ll run out of things to do, especially if it’s high CLs with longer waits. I’m a pretty active 60 year old who does well with short sleep nights, but four full park days in a row is my limit; and I prefer three - and I only go during the cooler, less crowded months. My next trip will be 5 (full) park days and I am planning a non park day in the middle.

I love to go for 10 nights and will be in the parks for at least 9 of those. My 2 favorite parks to start off with are EP or AK, and do the other the 2nd day, then maybe MK or HS, and do the one I haven’t done. Then maybe MK again. In the planning stages, figure out where we want to eat to get what parks we will be going to on that day. I know that in the past on a 10 night stay, I’ve spent 3 days at MK, 2 at each of the others. I am not a big PH fan but have done that to split it up.

2 Likes

We only done 5 day and 4 day trips (no rest days and no parks on travel days).