What do you use to navigate the parks?

I’m sure some of you could find all of the attractions in your TP with a blindfold on, HOWEVER, I’m not there… yet. It’s our first family trip (me, husband, and 2 boys 4 & 7). I plan to be the FP master, refreshing and modifying, as well as telling everyone where we’re going next according to our plan and my husband will be the navigator. Do you suggest using the good ol’ fashioned map? The MDE app? Or is there a cool 3rd option your prefer?

If you say the MDE app… Is it pretty reliable? I’ve never used it before obviously so not sure how it works.

I learned a lot of the maps in advance by doing run throughs of the touring plans in my head before I left. I pretty much can navigate with my eyes closed, or with my head buried in my phone.

When I do get stuck I use the MDE app. It shows you where you are and what direction you’re looking in and it’s easy enough to figure out where to go next.

3 Likes

We prefer the old fashion map. Just find it easier to look at and orient myself than looking at a screen. Easywdw.com has some very clear maps that I usually print out as well but I use that more for planning beforehand.

3 Likes

I’ve been wondering this as well!

We are really familiar with the parks now, but we still use the paper maps in park to find some things if we need to.

This. Try to look at the online maps a bit before you go so you’ll know the general layout of things. Epcot and MK are especially easy to navigate IMO. AK and HS are less obvious at least to me. As long as you have a general idea (i.e., BTMRR is in Frontierland in MK, KS is in Africa past FOTLK and near Gorilla Falls, we want to watch Illuminations from near France, etc.), you’ll be able to navigate easily using a quick look at the map and the signage in the parks I would think. I try to save my phone for essentials, such as FPP modifying and double checking ADR times

2 Likes