Trying to Budget for Dining Tips

Does anyone know of a good place to find out dining costs at peak times? We will be there Christmas week. I’ve gone through each menu on the WDW website to pull out the most expensive items on the menus to make sure we budget enough for tips, but am unsure if those costs change during peak times. They normally have to make DH’s meals special, as in not from a menu, so those costs are hard to predict. Which is why I am taking the most expensive items to estimate. It would be better to have too much budgeted than not enough.

Anyway, I don’t know about buffets. I’ve been using the largest number listed for those, but not sure that’s how it works, especially for breakfast and lunch. Do those go up during peak times? How can I find out? Also, I’m not a big proponent on tipping 18% to 20% for buffets. What are your thoughts on that?

We’ve decided that only I am going to The Wave on 12/26 while DH and DD16 RD MK, since that will be out of pocket. When I look at the allergy menu on Touring Plans, it shows prices per entree, but the website says it’s a buffet. Which is it?

Here is my planning sheet.

Allears.net has the prices ranges :slight_smile:

2 Likes

You should still tip 18-20% for buffets. Servers are constantly clearing your plates, they’re not doing any less work than other servers and are making the same crappy wage.

4 Likes

Also I believe the wave has a buffet and a regular menu.

1 Like

You can call Disney dining and they can give you the exact cost of the buffets on your actual day, I have done this before.

1 Like

Thanks!

1 Like